Welcome to Berkshire Carpentry
Serving Berkshire County and Western Massachusetts

Reviews

   

Here are 25 plus reviews on my Angie's List site. You can go to Angie's List and read them. Just go to angieslist.com and search for James Hansen Berkshire Carpentry.

 

\02/04/2017

Always good to have James here. He understands how most everything works and enjoys the challenges of working in older homes

Description of work:

James is a highly skilled carpenter with vast experience. He has completed mulitiple jobs for us, some complex including replacing rotted woodwork, sills and new flooring. He is very thorough, cleans up, reliable and honest with the highest standards.

Category: Carpentry - Unfinished, Drywall, Handymen, Remodeling - General, Windows, Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Work Completed Date: 11/01/2016
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA
--------------------------------------------------------

12/02/2016

James did a great job. We're very happy!

Description of work:

We originally hired James to install a new front door, and he ended up discovering and then fixing a massive amount of wood rot that the previous owners had neglected for apparently decades. He basically rebuilt one whole side of the house after all was said and done. In addition, he installed a tile entryway inside said front door, fixed several other doors in the house, and re-sided a large portion of the house. He also fixed shoddy carpentry that was done poorly by Champion Window of Albany when we had some new windows put in. He consulted on several other projects around the house as well. I'm probably forgetting other things that he did...he's done so much for us!

Category: Handymen, Remodeling - General, Windows, Carpentry - Woodworking, Painting - Exterior, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $9000
Work Completed Date: 11/28/2016
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA

---------------------------------------------------------------

12/15/2015
Description of work:

James is a jack of all trades. He knows his tools and inherently knows how to fix just about anything. His experiences are far-reaching in all trades....not afraid to tackle anything, the challenge to figure out the way things work and make them work better is his forte. His real talent lies in design and woodworking though he excels in just about everything else. He is the ultimate professional who cares genuinely for his customers, keeping them apprised of what is involved with their project(s). James returns calls and lets us know when he will be on the job. We are happy to have met this exceptional man, and highly recommend him to people who admire and appreciate fine craftsmanship and efficiency in getting the job done.

Category: Remodeling - General, Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: Yes
Work Completed Date: 12/01/2015
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

--------------------------------------------------------
03/28/2015

James was great. My wife and I are in Florida so I talked to him via email and phone, and my father coordinated with him locally. We gave him a key and he came and went as scheduled and got the job done quickly. The final product looks beautiful. He is very detail oriented and very experienced. That is the difference between dealing with a "window installer" and a master craftsman... A window installer will do the job quickly in order to shave a little off the price and make a larger profit... James makes beautiful furniture, which requires an eye for detail and perfection, so he installed our windows correctly. He also found us a better quality window than we would have otherwise purchased, direct from the manufacturer and at a great price. I have learned over the years that you want a true craftsman, who cares about quality and careful measurement and calculation when doing home repairs, who has all the right tools to do the job right, that way it gets done right the first time. I felt completely at ease being 1000 miles away while James worked on the house. I would highly recommend him for any home improvement project.

Description of work:

James replaced all 23 windows in the ground floor apartment of a duplex my wife and I had just purchased, including painting and scraping sills and removing all paint compliant with lead based removal (he is de-lead certified to do the work). He also fitted a kitchen cabinet and counter, repaired some doors, and made other small repairs.

Category: Cabinet Making, Countertops, Handymen, Remodeling - General, Windows, Carpentry - Woodworking, Painting - Exterior, Cabinet Refacing/Restoration, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $8800
Work Completed Date: 03/28/2015
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

------------------------------------------------------------------------
01/04/2015

All in all, it was fantastic work with an artisan's skill. I cannot believe that anyone could have done a better job, and certainly not for the price. I've got James on speed dial for future projects for myself and all my friends. If you want a project done right no matter the obstacles thrown in the way, rely on James for professional and quality work at a very reasonable price. There are bigger contractors out there, but with James the person you talk to on the phone is one who is doing the work. That kind of one-on-one contact makes all the difference for jobs big and small.

Description of work:

Our house is 64-years old, and by and large is in great shape. But over the front porch there's an overhang that was done in slipshod fashion. Over the years, water leaked in and led to significant rotting. We had three people come out for estimates, and James from Berkshire Carpentry was easily the most knowledgeable and impressive. To further seal the deal, his estimate was much more competitive than his competition. Once demo began it was clear that it was a bigger job than could be seen from the outside. A lesser carpenter might have found himself over his head at that point, but James took it in stride and overcame all of the quirks and surprises that the project threw his way. We added columns to the project, and the finished product looks like it was there all along. A seamless fix and addition to the front of the house! James is also skilled in concrete work, and so he demoed out the front step and poured new tinted concrete to match the existing concrete on the front walk. He also knows his way around a wet saw, and cut down two pieces of slate to make lovely bases for the new columns.

Category: Remodeling - General, Water & Smoke Damage, Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $1200
Work Completed Date: 01/04/2015
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA

--------------------------------------------------------------------

11/23/2014

James Hansen is the best carpenter and contractor I have ever hired. Over the ten years I've known him, he has fixed many things in my house - dry wall rot, water damage on porch roof, damage caused by dogs, and more. This past summer, we hired him to do a much bigger job - to renovate a downstairs bathroom to make it wheel-chair accessible. James had excellent ideas, was very patient when we changed our minds, and his work was impeccable. Our newly renovated bathroom, kitchen pantry and laundry room are gorgeous and stylish thanks to him. If you want to do quality home renovation work, I highly recommend James Hansen of Berkshire Carpentry. His workmanship is excellent and you will not be disappointed.

Description of work:

Remodeled our downstairs bathroom.

Category: Drywall, Remodeling - General, Water & Smoke Damage, Carpentry - Woodworking, Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom, Remodeling - Basements
Services Performed: Yes
Work Completed Date: 09/09/2014
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

-----------------------------------------------------------------
09/10/2014
Description of work:

Fixed, replaced very rotted window sills and interiors under window sills in 2 rooms. Replaced rotten cedar and repainted.

Category: Remodeling - General, Carpentry - Woodworking, Painting - Interior
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $1000
Work Completed Date: 08/28/2014
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

------------------------------

09/23/2012

He shows up on time and is realistic about estimates and completion times. I fine experience.

Description of work:

James is professional, smart, and competent. He installed a door that other said could not be done. He also did some custom shelves and finish work. He likes to get the job done right and it looks great. His pricing is right. He is highly recommended.

Category: Remodeling - General, Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $5000
Work Completed Date: 06/01/2011
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceB
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA
----------------------------------------------

10/03/2011

James is a fine carpenter that does excellent work. If you are not sure of the best way to do a job he will give you an idea. The previous owners of our house relocated the basement stairs without putting in a door. We had two carpenters look at it before James. One said it could not be done. Another gave an estimate of $1200 and said the door had to be very narrow. James took the time to figure it out and did it for less money. He put a custom door and not a pre-hung door. Highly recommended.

Description of work:

Wooden door and door frame custom installation.

Category: Remodeling - General, Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $800
Work Completed Date: 06/15/2011
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

---------------------------

05/08/2018

I was selling my house and I needed some last minute modifications. Jim stepped right in, gave me a detailed estimate and did great work. He met my short timeframe requirement.

Description of work:

General remodeling before sale of house

Category: Drywall, Handymen, Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $1000
Work Completed Date: 04/23/2018
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

---------------------------------------------------------------

08/06/2017

Jim is a brilliant craftsman, very responsible, creative and client-oriented. You could not do better for any carpentry especially requiring good taste and knowledge for style and integrating with existing home decor. James is a pleasure as well. David Singer Available to provide phone reference

Description of work:

cabinet for tv and components also window installation

Category: Cabinet Making, Windows, Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $500
Work Completed Date: 06/01/2017
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

--------------------------------------------------------

D06/21/2017

Was a horrible experience, when he did return my emails or calls it was days later, he never showed up when stated he would and then backed out of the job, leaving me with the less desired materials that were bought with the deposit, all because "he took on too many projects and his older customers come before his new ones" Not professional or reliable, sometimes cheaper is exactly what you get

Description of work:

A porch to have new woodwork up

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $350
Work Completed Date: 06/06/2017
Hire Again: No

OverallD
PriceC
QualityD
ResponsivenessF
ProfessionalismF
PunctualityF

Some people are very hard to deal with, client could not come to an agreement. No work was ever done.

-----------------------------------------------------------

A06/19/2017

Very meticulous and great follow through with the smallest details. Highly skilled, lots of experience and knows his stuff. Will hire again!

Description of work:

Misc. carpentry tasks.

Category: Cabinet Making, Carpentry - Unfinished, Drywall, Handymen, Windows, Carpentry - Woodworking, Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom, Painting - Interior, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Work Completed Date: 06/19/2017
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

------------------------------------------------------------------

A02/04/2017

Always good to have James here. He understands how most everything works and enjoys the challenges of working in older homes

Description of work:

James is a highly skilled carpenter with vast experience. He has completed mulitiple jobs for us, some complex including replacing rotted woodwork, sills and new flooring. He is very thorough, cleans up, reliable and honest with the highest standards.

Category: Carpentry - Unfinished, Drywall, Handymen, Remodeling - General, Windows, Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Work Completed Date: 11/01/2016
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

-------------------------------------------------------------------

A01/31/2017

My table looks and feels like new. I am beyond satisfied. Mr. Hansen is a consummate professional, a master carpenter. I would most definitely use his services again and cannot recommend him highly enough. I would be happy to speak with anyone seeking a reference.

Description of work:

I needed a solid oak dining table repaired. Mr. Hansen came first and provided me with an estimate. He went back to his shop to do some of the work. Today he arrived at my home and completed the job.

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $100
Work Completed Date: 01/31/2017
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

------------------------------------------------------------------------

A12/02/2016

James did a great job. We're very happy!

Description of work:

We originally hired James to install a new front door, and he ended up discovering and then fixing a massive amount of wood rot that the previous owners had neglected for apparently decades. He basically rebuilt one whole side of the house after all was said and done. In addition, he installed a tile entryway inside said front door, fixed several other doors in the house, and re-sided a large portion of the house. He also fixed shoddy carpentry that was done poorly by Champion Window of Albany when we had some new windows put in. He consulted on several other projects around the house as well. I'm probably forgetting other things that he did...he's done so much for us!

Category: Handymen, Remodeling - General, Windows, Carpentry - Woodworking, Painting - Exterior, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $9000
Work Completed Date: 11/28/2016
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

----------------------------------------------------------------------

A11/20/2016

Great. Lucky to get James who absolutely knew what he was doing. Now my wife's dream door is a reality. He came when he said he would; and called if he was going to be delayed. Very detailed oriented.

Description of work:

Make an existing door into a Dutch door. Very difficult job.

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $200
Work Completed Date: 11/19/2016
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA
-------------------------------------------------------------

04/16/2016

Beautiful job. Because of the weather it took a few days before he could come. He gave me an estimate and the job finished near estimate. Very pleased with the results.

Description of work:

Replace fascia and rehung gutters.

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $450
Work Completed Date: 04/14/2016
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

------------------------------------------------------------------

A03/04/2016

Everything went beautifully. He really went out of his way to help us out!

Description of work:

I hired them to do some grab bars and a railing.

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: Yes
Work Completed Date: 03/04/2016
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

--------------------------------------------------------------

A12/15/2015

James of Berkshire Carpentry did a wonderful job! Good communication, excellent work, very reasonable pricing. He even gave me good advice on how to fix a similar problem in another area of the porch by myself.

Description of work:

Repaired rotting post and floorboards on porch

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $450
Work Completed Date: 07/15/2015
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

----------------------------------------------------------------

A12/15/2015
Description of work:

James is a jack of all trades. He knows his tools and inherently knows how to fix just about anything. His experiences are far-reaching in all trades....not afraid to tackle anything, the challenge to figure out the way things work and make them work better is his forte. His real talent lies in design and woodworking though he excels in just about everything else. He is the ultimate professional who cares genuinely for his customers, keeping them apprised of what is involved with their project(s). James returns calls and lets us know when he will be on the job. We are happy to have met this exceptional man, and highly recommend him to people who admire and appreciate fine craftsmanship and efficiency in getting the job done.

Category: Remodeling - General, Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: Yes
Work Completed Date: 12/01/2015
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

----------------------------------------------------------------

A07/11/2015

james is a great problem solver and has all the skills to implement solutions. We have a cape cod from 1940 that is very well built and James has the right level of craftsmanship to work on our home. He did an excellent job installing and painting a new frond door, including weatherstripping. He also put in a screen door in the back. James also replaced mortar and concrete in our entrance. When a leak developed one day, James identified its origin and replaced siding on a dormer. His carpentry skills are excellent. James is reliable and responsive. If there is a change in schedule, he calls. He also cleans up after each day's work very well. He is pleasant in demeanor and has been very informative in explaining what and how he does things. He has also shown me some techniques in refinishing furniture as I am learning on an old piece of furniture. We are very happy with James' work and plan to use him for other projects. We highly recommend James.

Description of work:

james hung two doors, did some cement work on our entrance and replaced one side of a dormer.

Category: Handymen, Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $1000
Work Completed Date: 07/10/2015
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

A05/18/2015

Job was done better that we could have expected

Description of work:

Surveyed, Ordered, and installed a storm door

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $175
Work Completed Date: 05/16/2015
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

-------------------------------------------------------------

A05/07/2015
Description of work:

Prompt quote to level Anderson bay window -- sagging 1/2 in on left side. Wanted to hire for job, but because of emergent health issue he declined job.

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: No
Work Completed Date: 04/24/2015
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceN/A
QualityN/A
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityN/A
ProfessionalismA

Service Provider Response:

I am back working full time.

------------------------------------------------------------

A03/28/2015

James was great. My wife and I are in Florida so I talked to him via email and phone, and my father coordinated with him locally. We gave him a key and he came and went as scheduled and got the job done quickly. The final product looks beautiful. He is very detail oriented and very experienced. That is the difference between dealing with a "window installer" and a master craftsman... A window installer will do the job quickly in order to shave a little off the price and make a larger profit... James makes beautiful furniture, which requires an eye for detail and perfection, so he installed our windows correctly. He also found us a better quality window than we would have otherwise purchased, direct from the manufacturer and at a great price. I have learned over the years that you want a true craftsman, who cares about quality and careful measurement and calculation when doing home repairs, who has all the right tools to do the job right, that way it gets done right the first time. I felt completely at ease being 1000 miles away while James worked on the house. I would highly recommend him for any home improvement project.

Description of work:

James replaced all 23 windows in the ground floor apartment of a duplex my wife and I had just purchased, including painting and scraping sills and removing all paint compliant with lead based removal (he is de-lead certified to do the work). He also fitted a kitchen cabinet and counter, repaired some doors, and made other small repairs.

Category: Cabinet Making, Countertops, Handymen, Remodeling - General, Windows, Carpentry - Woodworking, Painting - Exterior, Cabinet Refacing/Restoration, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $8800
Work Completed Date: 03/28/2015
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

-------------------------------------------------------------

A01/12/2015

He was very professional and easy to work with. His work is professional and you get what you pay for. I would recommend him to anyone that needs work done. He was very pleasant to have around and stuck the his quote to the penny. It is refreshing to see that companies still treat people like people instead of just treating us as another job.

Description of work:

He did finishing work in our living room that was not completed by the previous contractor

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $1800
Work Completed Date: 11/26/2014
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

--------------------------------------------------------------

A01/04/2015

All in all, it was fantastic work with an artisan's skill. I cannot believe that anyone could have done a better job, and certainly not for the price. I've got James on speed dial for future projects for myself and all my friends. If you want a project done right no matter the obstacles thrown in the way, rely on James for professional and quality work at a very reasonable price. There are bigger contractors out there, but with James the person you talk to on the phone is one who is doing the work. That kind of one-on-one contact makes all the difference for jobs big and small.

Description of work:

Our house is 64-years old, and by and large is in great shape. But over the front porch there's an overhang that was done in slipshod fashion. Over the years, water leaked in and led to significant rotting. We had three people come out for estimates, and James from Berkshire Carpentry was easily the most knowledgeable and impressive. To further seal the deal, his estimate was much more competitive than his competition. Once demo began it was clear that it was a bigger job than could be seen from the outside. A lesser carpenter might have found himself over his head at that point, but James took it in stride and overcame all of the quirks and surprises that the project threw his way. We added columns to the project, and the finished product looks like it was there all along. A seamless fix and addition to the front of the house! James is also skilled in concrete work, and so he demoed out the front step and poured new tinted concrete to match the existing concrete on the front walk. He also knows his way around a wet saw, and cut down two pieces of slate to make lovely bases for the new columns.

Category: Remodeling - General, Water & Smoke Damage, Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $1200
Work Completed Date: 01/04/2015
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

-----------------------------------------------------------

11/23/2014

James Hansen is the best carpenter and contractor I have ever hired. Over the ten years I've known him, he has fixed many things in my house - dry wall rot, water damage on porch roof, damage caused by dogs, and more. This past summer, we hired him to do a much bigger job - to renovate a downstairs bathroom to make it wheel-chair accessible. James had excellent ideas, was very patient when we changed our minds, and his work was impeccable. Our newly renovated bathroom, kitchen pantry and laundry room are gorgeous and stylish thanks to him. If you want to do quality home renovation work, I highly recommend James Hansen of Berkshire Carpentry. His workmanship is excellent and you will not be disappointed.

Description of work:

Remodeled our downstairs bathroom.

Category: Drywall, Remodeling - General, Water & Smoke Damage, Carpentry - Woodworking, Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom, Remodeling - Basements
Services Performed: Yes
Work Completed Date: 09/09/2014
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

------------------------------------------------------------------

A11/11/2014

James did a great job with a new side door access on our garage. This involved cutting through a load-bearing wall, building custom reinforced framing, installing a pre-hung door, installing trim inside and out, and building a custom step for the outside. He picked up a door my wife and I selected at Home Depot and painted it to match our exterior wall. I was very impressed with his attention to detail, helpful suggestions, and ability to work around the inevitable home repair challenges (fortunately nothing major; but what would have stopped me dead in my tracks were only minor road bumps for him). He arrived on time and worked hard the whole 2 days. He had the right tools and knew how to use them. His price is reasonable, given the materials cost and amount of labor he put into the project. All in all a great experience.

Description of work:

installed a new door on sidewall of garage

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $850
Work Completed Date: 10/23/2014
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

A09/30/2014
Description of work:

Rebuilt window frame, rebuilt door frame, rebuilt door step.

Category: Handymen, Windows, Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $299
Work Completed Date: 07/29/2014
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceB
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

------------------------------------------------------

A09/10/2014
Description of work:

Fixed, replaced very rotted window sills and interiors under window sills in 2 rooms. Replaced rotten cedar and repainted.

Category: Remodeling - General, Carpentry - Woodworking, Painting - Interior
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $1000
Work Completed Date: 08/28/2014
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

---------------------------------------------------------------------

A08/06/2014

It went very well. James is fastidious and he is a perfectionist. He is the only contractor that really cleans up after himself. The job was beautifully done. Any chance I have I would use James Hansen again. His work is exceptional for a fair price.

Description of work:

He removed my old sliding door and installed a few one perfectly.

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $1800
Work Completed Date: 07/01/2014
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityB
ProfessionalismA

-------------------------------------------------------------------

B06/30/2014

After reviewing the work, the contractor notified me that the scope of work was greater than one day. We agreed that he would send me a quote for the whole job and the timeline to start and complete. Contractor contacted me two days later via phone to let me know he couldn't do the job because it was more than one day's work he was already too much other work scheduled.

Description of work:

He contacted me by phone to set up an initial meeting at my house to view the scope of work.

Category: Carpentry - Woodworking
Services Performed: No
Cost: $299
Work Completed Date: 06/29/2014
Hire Again: No

OverallB
PriceN/A
QualityN/A
ResponsivenessB
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismN/A

--------------------------------------------------------

A05/16/2014

The work went well. Nice job and I would hire James again in the future. He was running late for the second day and called to let me know before I expected him which was ideal. That gave me more time to catch up on things and know when to expect him. The work itself was well done.

Description of work:

I had a dishwasher installed requiring the removal of a cabinet in my kitchen. James Hansen from Berkshire Carpentry stained and installed a side missing to complete the look of the cabinet covering the view of the dishwasher's side. He found a stain that was almost exactly the color of the cabinets making this look uniform and complete. He also replaced poorly made shelving under my sink that also was stained wood and looks solid as a rock now. He also fixed a drawer of my dinning set that was off, and rounded out the stairs and banister on my deck as well as put up a mirror in my bathroom. Nice work.

Category: Cabinet Making, Carpentry - Woodworking, Painting - Interior
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $299
Work Completed Date: 05/16/2014
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

----------------------------------------------------------------

A09/23/2012

He shows up on time and is realistic about estimates and completion times. I fine experience.

Description of work:

James is professional, smart, and competent. He installed a door that other said could not be done. He also did some custom shelves and finish work. He likes to get the job done right and it looks great. His pricing is right. He is highly recommended.

Category: Remodeling - General, Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $5000
Work Completed Date: 06/01/2011
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceB
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

--------------------------------------------------------------------

A10/03/2011

James is a fine carpenter that does excellent work. If you are not sure of the best way to do a job he will give you an idea. The previous owners of our house relocated the basement stairs without putting in a door. We had two carpenters look at it before James. One said it could not be done. Another gave an estimate of $1200 and said the door had to be very narrow. James took the time to figure it out and did it for less money. He put a custom door and not a pre-hung door. Highly recommended.

Description of work:

Wooden door and door frame custom installation.

Category: Remodeling - General, Carpentry - Woodworking, Doors
Services Performed: Yes
Cost: $800
Work Completed Date: 06/15/2011
Hire Again: Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

 

Thank you, James Hansen


 

Berkshire Carpentry
PO Box 708
Cheshire, MA 01225

PH: 413 743 0107
Woodmaster1@aol.com

Copyright Berkshire Carpentry 2018 All rights reserved

Serving Berkshire County, Western Massachusetts and Eastern New York State